Uncategorized

Coast range rapture ride

On May 5 several dozen gravel road riding bicycle enthusiasts gathered at the Flying M ranch for a ride across the coast range and back. An ambitious 70 mile ride named the Rapture, over gravel and dirt roads, organized by Velodirt. A big thanks to Donnie and Velodirt for organizing this event.

Ready to start. Most of the riders used cyclocross bikes.

A pavilion was rented for the occasion. There is a pinata hanging at one end.

My bike. A 1984 salsa alacarte. I took a lot of stuff and was not in any hurry to finish the ride. I was glad I took the mt bike, since there was quite a bit of rough gravel out there.

Much of the scenery was second growth. waterfalls and swollen creeks.

Spent a lot of the day following streams and rivers. It was a wonderful route.


smooth hardpack sometimes

Barney resivour


Woh, where did the trees go? Clearcuts were frequent. Industrial forestry in all its glory.
Navigation with iPhone

Staying on the route was important, since getting lost out in these woods is easy with the numerous logging roads going this way and that. We had a cue sheet, and with an odometer it wasn’t too hard to figure out where to go. Following the bicycle tire tracks was possible (although a little risky). I had a compass as a backup device as well. Moss grows not just on the north side of trees in these wet woods, but ALL OVER the trees.

But to navigate I used my iPhone and it worked great. Since a number of people asked me about my using a telephone to find my way around in the woods, this is how it works:  I use an app named Gaia,  I loaded the (free) topo map (MyTopo) on the phone so it would be there when I am out of range. The garmin track was offered as a download on the Velodirt page, but that is proprietary and it would not transfer to my phone. Loading a GPX track on the iPhone (or android) is easy, but there was none available (till now). So I looked over the paper maps and just put waypoints at all the intersections and every half mile or so. On ride day, I recorded the track on my ride (posted below), and navigated by going from waypoint to waypoint. It was very easy and I was never concerned with direction. Here is a great primer on using your phone as a navigation tool.

If you want to put this track in your phone, get the Gaia app (or similiar, but I think Gaia is the best). Use a laptop or desktop computer to click rapture track below. That takes you to the breadcrumbs page. Go to the lower right and tap the GPX button to download it. Send the file as an attachment to yourself. On your phone, open the email and touch and hold the attached file. An option to load in Gaia will appear. Load it in Gaia, and you are all set. You may be able to do all this on your phone, but is does not always seem to work, and it is easier to use a computer to send the file to yourself. You may notice I started about a mile down from the Flying M, since I forgot to start the track recording until I was underway….

http://www.gobreadcrumbs.com/plugins/stat/122451.js

2 thoughts on “Coast range rapture ride

  1. nice description of the route, and by the way, the graph data shows a top speed attained of approximately 20mph? kinda pushing the envelope..
    -Tim

    Like

Leave a Reply

